One of the things I love about going to work is the fact that I don’t have to wear my diaper bag.  I get to wear a big-girl-all-grown-up-regular purse instead.  When I was pregnant of course, choosing a good diaper bag was a highlight.  Some of my friends went the Gucci route (way too expensive) while most picked out a Petunia Pickle Bottom (their prints make me dizzy). I looked at many and ultimately found one at Target I liked, embellished it with materials I found at Michael’s and was psyched.  This all came to a screeching halt when I returned to work and realized how much more fun it is to be able to wear a normal purse on a daily basis.

That’s why as of this week, I am going to try to wean myself off of the diaper bag.  That’s right, when I go out with my son, I’m going to throw some diapers and wipes in my purse and go.  No more bibs that will last 8 meals.  No more travel size Tylenol.  No more diaper bag. 

My son’s on a good “schedule” now. I pretty much know when he’s going to eat, and take a bottle.  So I don’t need to prepare for every outing like we’re going on an overnight trip.  He’s more low maintenance now, and I can be more selfish and take a purse that actually looks cute, rather than my hefty baby suitcase.

But it’s not going to be easy, I tell you.   I will miss all those interior pockets.  I will be sad to not have a waterproof lining.  But I’m moving on.  My son is getting bigger, but I’m ready to downsize.  

