I’ve been thinking a lot lately about working moms who travel for business.  I had to take a trip this week and realized there are many pros and cons for us to a business trip. Some thoughts and tips:

  • Bring photos.  A fellow mom coworker gave me this great tip. Having photos of your kids when you travel at least gives some comfort.  My husband has another great idea- take photos with your PDA or cell phone and you’ll have photos of your kids wherever you go.
  • Wear an old suit.  If you’re like me, you haven’t worn your nice work clothes in awhile.  This past trip, I busted out a suit I hadn’t worn in almost a year, and it made me feel like I had a new wardrobe!
  • Go out to dinner.  No matter how tired you are, getting out of the hotel for a bite to eat reminds you that people actually do eat after 6 pm.  A glass of wine with dinner doesn’t hurt either.
  • Remember- you have more stamina than they do.  No matter how little or fitful sleep you get, it’s nothing like the lack of sleep that goes with raising kids.  Us working moms have it easy – we are very well prepared for lack of sleep and long days!
  • Advertisements