I think Lisa Foderaro of the NY Times should have talked to my friend before she wrote her article about mothers enjoying business travel.  I followed up with my friend who had to travel earlier this week, and who is still breastfeeding her 4 month old daughter. Mind you, she’s only been back at work 3 weeks, so in my mind she’s a hero for taking a business trip so soon.  Her trip went something like this:
– Pump at O’Hare before she left (dumped the milk)
– Pump at client meeting. Oh yeah, the client walked in on her in the bathroom. (dumped the milk)
– Pump at LaGuardia airport. (dumped the milk)

So I’m thinking that is about 28 oz wasted of precious breast milk for a 4 hour client meeting. It’s better, however, than another story I heard from another working mom (WM) friend.  This story goes something like this:
WM kills time on flight by pumping in the bathroom when she hears pounding on the door.  WM tells person pounding they will have to wait.  More pounding.  WM says hold on. More pounding. WM gets a little edgy and says hold on.  Next thing that happens- air marshal kicks in door and finds WM pumping away.  Apparently people on the plane saw her go to the bathroom with a backpack (her pump) and decided she was in there too long and freaked.

Working moms of the world- welcome to post 9/11 travel madness.  Apparently she got a lot of apologies.  I think a free flight was in order here.

